David’s Birthday Present

March 3, 2010

(Mom, sorry it’s taken so long to post this, but I thought you, and others, might like to see it.)

I forgot to bring out a birthday present for David and instead of attempting to find one that’s not too overpriced here I decided to make him a birthday present, using only the materials I could find in our house…

My Life in Africa

We had to fly in an airplane from the U.S. to Africa
Can you fly the airplane?

Nigerian Driving
Can you drive the car from house to house?
Oops, the bridge is broken

Laundry Time
Can you hang the clothes on the line?
Can you put the clothes in the basket?

How We Get Water
Rain
– Can you make it rain?
Borehole -Can you work the pump?


We sleep under nets to keep the bugs off us
Can you tie the rope onto the mosquito net?

The Lord will keep you from all harm-he will watch over your life, the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.  -Psalm 121:7-8

6 Responses to “David’s Birthday Present”

  1. Kathy Tinklenberg Says:

    Laura,
    What a special book you’ve created for David! I’m sure he has a lot of fun with it. Thanks so much for taking a picture of each page, what a treat. You put a lot of work into it with all the extra hand stitching. I look forward to seeing it some day and we continue to pray for God’s protection over David along with you and Matthew.
    Love, Mom

  2. Marcia Van Drunen Says:

    That is TOTALLY amazing! Love that you shared it, too 🙂
    Blessings, hugs, and love to you.

  3. Great Grandma Tink Says:

    Too cute! What a talented Mom and what a fun and educational book for David.

  4. mom l Says:

    First reactions to this post

    No way, how could I, what birthday, what month is it!! then more of it came up and I felt so much better. It is a wonderful treasure book for him love you all

  5. Roy Tinklenberg Says:

    Hi Laura and Matthew! I love the book that you made for David! Mom told me about it on the phone so I had to check it out myself. May God continue to bless you and make you a blessing!


  6. […] may remember that I made a quiet book.  Check out https://davidlanser.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/davids-birthday-present/  to see David’s book.  I made one for Micah’s birthday too.   I cheated a little […]


Leave a comment